Skip to content.

Our charity is working to make active lives possible with a vision that disabled people are active for life.

Menu. Open and close this menu with the ENTER key.

International Learning Disability Tri-Series to be hosted in Cheshire

The England and Wales Cricket Board have today announced the dates and venues for the upcoming INAS Learning Disability Tri-Series.

Disabled player in cricket training

England, Australia and South Africa will compete for the trophy in July this year across a series of 40 over and T20 games. Matches will be held at a range of club grounds across Cheshire.

The tournament has been played bi-annually since 2005 and England have won the last two events.

The winning team will be the one with the most points after all the fixtures, with two points up for grabs every game.

Head of Disability Cricket Ian Martin said:

“We are proud to be hosting the 2017 INAS Cricket Tri-Series, 10 years since we last hosted the event in 2007.
“We look forward to welcoming South Africa and Australia to England and to renewing old friendships and creating new ones. We are very much looking forward to the challenge of defending the title.
“I am grateful for the support of Cheshire Cricket Board in hosting the tournament and I am sure that our visitors will be delighted with the quality of the grounds that we have chosen and the hospitality that will greet them.
“The staging of the tournament is further evidence of our commitment to delivering more international series for our disability squads and another opportunity for the team to shine on the international stage.”

England Learning Disability Captain Chris Edwards said:

“We are all very excited at the thought of playing such a high-profile tournament on home soil. It is extra special for me to take part in a series in my home county. I’m sure we will have strong support at all of our games and hopefully the next generation of England cricketers will be there watching us.
“Australia and South Africa will be tough opponents but we are confident and believe in ourselves as a team. We all can’t wait to get going.”

Tri-Series schedule in full:

9 July 2017 - Opening ceremony - Cranage Hall

10 July 2017 - 40 Over - England v South Africa - Chester, Boughton Hall CC

11 July 2017 - 40 Over - England v Australia - Grappenhall CC, Warrington

12 July 2017 - 40 Over - South Africa v Australia - Nantwich CC

13 July 2017 - 40 Over - South Africa v England - Bramhall CC

14 July 2017 - 40 Over - Australia v England - Tattenhall CC

16 July 2017 - 40 Over - South Africa v Australia - Oxton CC

17 July 2017 - Final - Neston CC

18 July 2017 - T20 - England v Australia and Australia v South Africa - Toft CC

19 July 2017 - T20 - South Africa v England and England v Australia - Nantwich CC

20 July 2017 - T20 - England v South Africa and South Africa v Australia - Oxton CC

21 July 2017 - T20 - Final - Nantwich CC